„Take a Number, Leave Your Head“, Klaus Obermaier & Ars Electronica FuturelabPresented in the frame of the Ars Electronica Festival 2014

FRI, Sept. 5 & SAT, Sept. 6, 2014, 5 PM
Ars Electronica Futurelab, Studio
Max. 50 persons (registration form tbd)


With the second micro-performance of the art-based research project (St)Age of Participation, Klaus Obermaier and the Ars Electronica Futurelab have recourse to a historical movement that still packs a punch even as it nears 100: the anti-art movement Dada with its predilection for the anarchic and absurd. 98 years after the first Salon Dada in Zürich’s Cabaret Voltaire, the experimental piece entitled Take a Number, Leave Your Head takes the Dada mentality that once rained down abuse on the bourgeoisie and lets it loose on our high-tech present.

Club Absurd
In the basement beneath the Ars Electronica Futurelab, a temporary club will be set up featuring a bar and interactive zones in which visitors can get acquainted with Dada poetry. The space’s soundscape can be distorted by mere gestures. And suddenly the ludicrous dramatics begin—actors and dancers morphing into virtual copies of those present. In this dramaturgical setting, audience members together with professional performers and high-tech tools create a setting for digital and physical absurdities.

How do you get the audience involved?
Since 2011, the project team of (St)Age of Participation has been investigating new possibilities of audience participation in stage-based media art. What dramaturgical factors have to be considered when spectators co-determine in real time what occurs in a performance? Which interfaces are suited to the collective design of a work’s sounds, visuals and other content? Can participation heighten an audience’s emotional involvement in an artistic experience? And can sustained involvement even be expected of spectators, or do they also need places for retreat and phases of passive reception?

Experimental micro-performances
To wrestle with these issues, several approximately half-hour-long micro-performances are developed in the frame of the art-based research project. They are conceived as dramaturgical proving grounds. A first series of micro-performances entitled Letterbox was staged in 2012 at Deep Space in the Ars Electronica Center.

about the author

No comments

The comments are closed.

„Take a Number, Leave Your Head“, Klaus Obermaier & Ars Electronica FuturelabAufführungen im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festival 2014

FR, 5.9. & SA, 6.9.2014, 17 Uhr
Ars Electronica Futurelab, Studio
Max. 50 Personen (Anmeldeformalitäten folgen)


Mit der zweiten Micro-Performance des künstlerischen Forschungsprojekts (St)Age of Participation greifen Klaus Obermaier und das Ars Electronica Futurelab auf eine Strömung zurück, die trotz ihrer fast 100 Jahre noch immer zu bewegen vermag: die Anti-Kunstbewegung Dada mit ihrer Liebe zum Archaischen und Absurden. 98 Jahre nach dem ersten “Salon Dada” im Cabaret Voltaire in Zürich überträgt das experimentelle Stück Take a Number, Leave Your Head die alte dadaistische Bürgerschreckmentalität in die hochtechnisierte Gegenwart.

Club Absurd
Im Keller unter dem Ars Electronica Futurelab entsteht ein temporärer Club mit Bar und interaktiven Zonen, in denen die BesucherInnen Bekanntschaft mit Dada-Poesie schließen und die Soundkulisse durch bloße Gesten verzerren können. Und plötzlich beginnt ein Narrenspiel: SchauspielerInnen und TänzerInnen verwandeln sich in fratzenhafte virtuelle Kopien einzelner Anwesender. In diesem dramaturgischen Setting erschafft das Publikum gemeinsam mit professionellen PerformerInnen und technologischen Werkzeugen einen Raum digitaler und physischer Absurditäten.

Wie das Publikum beteiligen?
Seit 2011 untersucht das Projekt-Team vom (St)Age of Participation Möglichkeiten der Publikumsbeteiligung in der bühnenbasierten Medienkunst: Welcher dramaturgischer Überlegungen bedarf es, wenn die BesucherInnen in Echtzeit mitbestimmen, was bei einer Performance passiert? Welche technologischen Interfaces eignen sich für die kollektive Gestaltung von Sounds, Visuals und anderen Inhalten eines Stücks? Kann Publikumsbeteiligung die emotionale Anteilnahme am Kunsterlebnis erhöhen? Und will das Publikum überhaupt ständig mitmachen – oder braucht es auch Rückzugsorte und Gelegenheiten, das Geschehen einfach nur zu verfolgen?

Experimentelle Micro-Performances
Zur Auseinandersetzung mit solchen Fragen werden im Rahmen des künstlerischen Forschungsprojekts mehrere etwa halbstündige Micro-Performances entwickelt, die als dramaturgische Experimentierfelder verstanden werden. Vor Take a Number, Leave Your Head wurde eine erste Serie an Micro-Performances unter dem Titel Letterbox im Jahr 2012 im Deep Space des Ars Electronica Center gezeigt.

about the author

No comments

The comments are closed.